Categories
Pre-Production

Settling Film-Opening Genre

During the discussion with my group members, we decided to settle on a genre that has more variety and is familiar to all of us; that genre being Drama. The reason why I chose this over other genres is because, personally, I think that I can express myself better without having to write jokes for the comedy genre or have to act, with my mediocre acting skills, in the romance genre. The other reasons my group presented to me was that, the drama genre is something that allows us to express out uniqueness whilst also still having a lot of references on its structure and conventions as seen by countless of drama films made. Going further in depth, in our reflection, we chose specifically the drama that centers around family. Although, we are still unsure on how the plot will progress, but we do know that we will choose make the film opening that raises awareness regarding children in broken homes and how their mental health could be affected by it.

Click here to know about my research on film-opening genre conventions.

Leave a comment